top of page

Don Wright Scholarship

Each year, St. Michael’s Printshop offers one emerging artist the Don Wright Printmaking Scholarship (DWS). First awarded in 1991, the Don Wright Scholarship was established in recognition of visual artist Don Wright for the valuable contribution he made to the development of St. Michael’s Printshop and the visual arts in Newfoundland and Labrador.

The focus of the scholarship is to provide year-long access to the printshop for an emerging artist, as well as learning opportunities through mentorship and access to classes offered at the studio. The scholarship is designed to allow the scholar space, support and dedicated time to develop their practice. The DWS includes 24 hour access to the shop for one year, a stipend of $1500, introduction to an awesome arts community and the option of an exhibition in our gallery at the end of the residency.


Previous Don Wright Scholars

Emily Critch 2020-2021
Hildur Jónasson 2019-2020
Megan Wells 2018-2019
Lani Burshtein 2017-2018
Michael Ciesielski 2016-2017
Jesse Wardell 2015-2016
Amery Sandford 2014-2015
Virginia Mittford 2013-2014
April White 2012-2013
Audrey Hurd 2011-2012

bottom of page